CHL Classes     

All CHL Classes taught by Texas DPS Certified CHL Instructor

The law portion of class is 5 hours per new regulation (effective 10/2013). This does not include written testing or shooting qualification. Please plan on being in the class for at least 7-8 hours.

To apply for a Concealed Handgun License in Texas you must be:

  • A resident of Texas.
  • 21 and legally able to buy a handgun under both Federal and State law.
  • Not judged to be chemically dependent or of unsound mind.
  • Not ever convicted of a felony anywhere, and no convictions of a Class A or B misdemeanor in the past 5 years.
  • Not subject to a restraining or protective order.
  • Not delinquent in payment of taxes, child support or any money collected by any Texas Governmental entity.
  • Out of state residents may apply for a non-resident license if they meet all other requirements listed above.
  • You must qualify using a .32 caliber or larger. If you qualify with a Semi-Auto or a Revolver you may carry any type or caliber handgun.

The shooting proficiency test will consist of 50 rounds of timed fire on the state specified target. 20 rounds at 3 yards 20 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 15 yards.  Range time will be conducted rain or shine.

No class time is available to teach basic shooting skills. If you believe you cannot pass the proficiency test with a score of 175/250, (70%) or better, you should consider enrolling in our basic learn to shoot class. One on one sessions are available.

No live ammunition will be allowed in the training room.

For a full list of requirements, see Training Requirements.

August 11, 2015
The Minimalist’s Guide to Go Bags
Are you ready to go in case of a natural disaster? Learn how go-bags...

What if All Standard Communication Stops Working?
It’s a nightmare – the internet, satellite, TV, and cell phone...